Today IN History: May 25

May 25, 2018

Scott Dixon has four IndyCar championships and one Indianapolis 500 victory, in 2008
Credit Matt Dial / Indianapolis Star

Seven crashes and spinouts marred the first Indianapolis 500 since the two warring open-wheel series (CART and IRL) came together under the IndyCar banner; Scott Dixon stayed ahead of the trouble to win the race, in 2008.